Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Those Left Behind (Serenity #1)


★★★★☆
THOSE LEFT BEHIND by Joss Whedon

Series #: Serenity, #1
Genre: Fiction, Science Fiction, Graphic Novels, Comics
Original Publication Date: 2006


Review

Read: 29 Jun 2016

Summary: When an “easy” job goes awry (and let’s be truthful, why would we read about them if they didn’t), Mal and crew end up fighting an old enemy they thought was dead. He didn’t stay dead, apparently, and he’s got some interesting new business partners he’s dealing with.

Review: When an “easy” job goes awry (and let’s be truthful, why would we read about them if they didn’t), Mal and crew end up fighting an old enemy they thought was dead. He didn’t stay dead, apparently, and he’s got some interesting new business partners he’s dealing with.

An in-between-Firefly-and-Serenity story, Those Left Behind felt a lot less like a story and a lot more like exposition. I really enjoyed the illustrations of the characters in the edition I was reading, but the story felt like an afterthought to the recurring characters. As if the entire story was crafted to be a “look who it is! Aren’t you surprised?” and then, really, no I wasn’t very surprised and even if I was, the returned character is resolved by the end. It was a quick read, good for fans of Firefly and Serenity, but you need the character info to understand the story.

Recommendation: I would recommend this for fans of Firefly and Serenity, but if you ended up here without watching the show & film, I recommend those first.


More Info

Publisher: Dark Horse Books
Edition Publication Date: 2012
Edition ISBN: 9781595829146

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *